Medical marijuana is used to treat many patients for conditions like chronic pain, nausea, muscle spasms, poor appetite, and more. Cannabis users treating a medical condition can get a Medical Marijuana Identification Card (MMIC) to access additional benefits such as credibility, legal protection, and fewer taxes.
It is important to note that not having a medical marijuana card in California will not hinder your access to cannabis in the state because weed is also allowed for recreational use.
However, an MMIC allows patients to legally purchase and possess larger quantities of products like flowers and concentrates. It also lets patients cultivate more cannabis plants at home than is allowed otherwise. You can apply for your MMIC in the county of your residence.
California’s medical marijuana law states that you’re eligible for an MMIC if you suffer from any of the following conditions:
You must be 18 and above to apply for a medical marijuana card. If you are between the age of 18-21, you need a physician’s recommendation to use medical marijuana.
An MMIC helps the state to keep a database of patients that use medical marijuana, along with information about their caregivers. This information allows law enforcement members to verify and check whether a patient or primary caregiver qualifies to possess the card.
While you are not required to get an MMIC, if you do, you’ll get the following benefits:
To apply for a medical marijuana card in California, you need to complete these steps:
While applying for your medical card, you’ll need the following documents:
You can obtain the application forms online. You’ll have to fill out the following forms:
You have to contact your county’s health department and make an appointment to submit your application.
To apply for your MMIC through the mail, you must submit all the above-mentioned documents, application form, and application fee to your county’s health department unless stated otherwise.
It takes up to 40 days for an application to be approved. You may receive a denial letter because of the following circumstances:
If your application is denied, you can appeal to the health department free of cost. You can also do this via mail. Attach a copy of your denial letter with the appeal form and mail it to your respective county’s health department.
A California Medical Marijuana Card can be used for 12 months (until its expiration date), after which you’ll need to renew your MMIC.
If your card is stolen on lost, you must inform the Medical Marijuana Program, after which you’ll need to apply for your MMIC again.
Primary caregivers cannot apply for an MMIC by themselves. They require their patient to include their caregiver while filling out their application form. Caregivers must provide ID proof and apply in person at their patient’s county program.
You can be a primary caregiver if you are responsible for a qualifying patient’s housing, health, or safety. You’re eligible to be a primary caregiver if you are 18 and above and are the parent or work at a facility that provides this service.
If you’re a medical marijuana user’s caregiver, you’re allowed to possess their dose of cannabis on their behalf. Other than this, you can administer their dose to them, transport a specified amount for their care, and even grow and rear the plant for their use.
A minor (below 18) can apply for a medical marijuana card alone if they are legally emancipated. If not, they must apply through a legal guardian or parent for verification purposes. The minor will have to apply as a primary caregiver in case of emancipation. You can contact your county health department to learn more about this process.
The MMIC will have the following information about the holder:
Here are a few frequently asked questions about Medical Marijuana Identification Card in California:
Yes, your MMIC is valid in all counties in California but may not be recognized in other states. For more information, you’ll have to contact the state in question.
MMICs from other states are not valid in California.
While a doctor can’t prescribe marijuana, they can recommend or approve the use of marijuana if they feel that it’ll help your condition. This also applies only to the list of eligible ailments mentioned above.
If you are the primary caregiver to more than one patient, you must reside in your patient’s county.
Yes, you’ll have to complete the same forms and go through the process again.
If you possess an MMIC you are eligible to grow 6 mature and 12 immature cannabis plants on your premises. It is recommended to grow the plant indoors as it is illegal to grow it within public view.
Growing a marijuana plant does not give you the right to sell it. Selling marijuana is only allowed if you have a license.
Counties can set their fee and charge no more than $100. If you’re eligible for Medi-Cal, your fee can be waived by 50%.
You can carry medical marijuana while traveling within the state. The marijuana container must be sealed as traveling with an open container of cannabis is illegal. It should also be stored in your trunk.
Having an MMIC does not allow you to consume cannabis and cannabis products everywhere. Consumption of cannabis is allowed on private property but not on public property like restaurants and bars.Many private properties also have rules against the use of cannabis. Keep this in mind if you are living in a rented space. Similarly, hotels have policies that can be clarified on arrival if you want to consume marijuana.
You are not allowed to smoke marijuana within 1,000 feet of a school where children are present. This also applies to daycares and youth centers.
Any land that is governed under federal law does not allow the possession or consumption of cannabis. Possession of cannabis on federal lands like national parks is not allowed. Having an MMIC allows you to transport cannabis according to your needs within the state but not across state borders.
Having your doctor’s recommendation is a good practice, but a recommendation alone is not the same as an MMIC.
If you don’t have an MMIC, you won’t be able to purchase products with a higher level of THC/CBD, grow more plants at home, or transport the amount allowed for medical marijuana users.
We recommend applying for an MMIC to get all the benefits of the card.
With or without an MMIC, you’re allowed to purchase any type of cannabis product as long as you are 21 or older. With an MMIC, you can purchase a higher dose and quantity as per your requirement.
When you do choose a cannabis product, make sure you check the dosage and pick the one that suits you best. Products that are high in THC will give you the ‘high’ effect. If you’re not looking for that, make sure you pick out the ones that are infused with CBD instead.
If you don’t like smoking, there are other ways to administer cannabis for its effects. You can try edibles like chocolate bars, cookies, gummies, or honey. These are infused with cannabis properties like THC and CBD. They are particularly great for helping those who suffer from eating disorders and can even help to bring back the appetite of cancer patients.
You can also consume cannabis through a cannabis-infused drink if you’re not fond of the edibles. These can go up to 100mg of THC in dosage and have become a popular pick-up at dispensaries.
Cannabis-infused topicals such as balms, creams, and salves are also popular. They can be used by rubbing them into the problem area. These products are easy to use and can be regulated in dosage.
Ever since medical marijuana has begun to become part of the Californian culture, it has become easy to find a dispensary. However, this does not mean that all dispensaries can be trusted. It’s best to shop from a licensed dispensary, especially when it’s medical cannabis products. You can conduct a license search for any dispensary to make sure you’re getting a legal and good-quality product.
We hope this guide answered all your questions about a Medical Marijuana Card and how you can apply for your own. You’re eligible to use your MMIC at any Body and Mind dispensary located in California. We have three in the state: Long Beach, San Diego, and Seaside.
At Body and Mind, we aim to supply organic, high-quality cannabis products. We have everything from flowers and concentrates to merchandise and cannabis snacks. You can learn more about the potency and make of each of our strains by speaking to our experts at our dispensaries.
You can also shop online or visit our dispensaries across California:
Long Beach – 34411 E Anaheim St Long Beach, CA 90804 (9 am – 10 pm)
San Diego – 7625 Carroll Rd San Diego, CA 92121 (8 am – 9 pm)
Seaside – 1900 Fermont Blvd Seaside, CA 93955 (9 am – 9:45 pm)
Medical marijuana cards in Michigan are in demand largely due to the mounting evidence that cannabis can relieve and treat various ailments. Cannabis is proven helpful to patients dealing with chronic pain, nausea, vomiting, and other symptoms. The State of Michigan legalized cannabis consumption for medical use in November 2008. The State also allowed the…
Suffering from intense pain or medical conditions? The Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment Act of 2016 allows you to obtain various strains, pre-rolls, and concentrates legally through an Arkansas medical marijuana card. This card can be used to purchase cannabis at state-sanctioned dispensaries like Body and Mind. However, you are required to follow a procedure to…
A medical marijuana card offers benefits, credibility, and legal protection to those using cannabis for medical purposes. You can save on state and local taxes with a medical card, and also gain access to dispensaries with high-quality and reliable cannabis products. To get a medical marijuana card in Ohio, you must be 18 or older…